ATOLLs ANR

Archipels, Territoires et mObilités famiLiaLes

Archipelagos, territories and family mobility

 

The objective of the project is to analyse the sustainability of Polynesian territorial organisation by focusing on migration, families and policies. Based on an examination of the organization of families, their anchors and the mobility trajectories of the individuals who compose them, we wish to identify the mechanisms at the origin of mobility or, on the contrary, the anchoring of populations on the Polynesian territory. In this archipelagic territory, our objective is to evaluate the role of the establishment of public services (education, health, transport), economic development zones, and more generally the territorial organization supported by all policies on population dynamics. It will also be necessary to take into account the position of this Oceanic territory in relation to other areas (France, New Caledonia, Asia, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, etc.) as potential destinations, in particular for educational and health mobility.

 

French Polynesia is considered here as a reticular settlement system where intermediate spaces do not exist. It is an open space where the family network and its solidarity make it possible to overcome insularity. A space whose negative migratory balance is increasing and where there is intense polarization in the local "metro-pole" (Tahiti Island and its capital Papeete) where the port and airport hub is located. But also an area made up of 118 islands grouped into 5 archipelagos and spread over a territory as vast as Europe, whose most remote islands are almost 2000 km apart.

 

Economic development and the concentration of public services in the capital explain the densification of the urban area of Papeete over the past 50 years. This concentration has resulted today in a major housing crisis coupled with an economic crisis that may be at the root of the current decline towards the archipelagos. The role and location of public services (education, health, transport) subject to the obligation of territorial continuity must then show strong resilience in a society where almost one in two individuals has changed homes in the space of five years.

 

This project presents a unique opportunity to analyze the sustainability of territorial systems from a triple entry point: places and territories; families and relationships; individuals and their journey. The analyses envisaged, whether quantitative or qualitative, will therefore explore family functioning, public mechanisms and individual characteristics that make it possible to transcend insularity. In other words, the envisaged multi-scale analysis will make it possible to understand the tension that may exist between access to services, family solidarity, territorial anchors and, more generally, the maintenance of populations over such a vast territory.

 

Supported by a multidisciplinary team (geographers, demographers, sociologists, statisticians and politicians), our project is based on a double partnership with the UMR SAGE of the University of Strasbourg and UMR IDEES of the University of Rouen and the Institut de statistique de Polynésie française (ISPF) which participates in the project as part of various collections already programmed and financed (the 2018 employment survey, the 2019 survey on family, housing and distance relations).

 

This project, which is original in many respects, combines the collection and analysis of quantitative and qualitative materials. It is part of a renewal of questions around the family and proposes a new quantitative analysis on a territory until then little described. More generally, it makes it possible to reinterview work on the sustainability of territories based on a geographical archetype.

ANR ATOLLs

Archipels, Territoires et mObilités famiLiaLes

L’objectif du projet est d’analyser la durabilité de l’organisation territoriale polynésienne en se focalisant sur les migrations, les familles et les politiques. En s’appuyant sur l’examen de l’organisation des familles, de leurs ancrages et des trajectoires de mobilité des individus qui les composent, nous souhaitons identifier les mécanismes à l’origine de la mobilité ou au contraire de l’ancrage des populations sur le territoire polynésien. Dans ce territoire archipélagique, notre objectif est d’évaluer le rôle de l’implantation des services publics (éducation, santé, transports), des zones de développement économique, plus généralement de l’organisation territoriale soutenue par l’ensemble des politiques sur les dynamiques de peuplement. Il conviendra aussi de prendre en compte la position de ce territoire de l’Océanie en lien avec d’autres espaces (l’Hexagone, la Nouvelle Calédonie, l’Asie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, l’Australie, le Canada, etc.) destinations potentielles en particulier des mobilités d’éducation et de santé.

La Polynésie française est ici envisagée comme un système de peuplement réticulaire où les espaces intermédiaires n’existent pas. Il s’agit d’un espace ouvert où le réseau familial et ses solidarités permettent de franchir l’insularité. Un espace dont le solde migratoire négatif s’accentue et où l’on observe une polarisation intense dans la « métro-pôle » locale (l’île de Tahiti et sa capitale Papeete) où se situe le hub portuaire et aéroportuaire. Mais aussi un espace constitué de 118 îles regroupées en 5 archipels et réparties sur un territoire vaste comme l’Europe dont les îles les plus éloignées sont séparées de près de 2000 km.

Le développement économique et la concentration de services publics dans la capitale expliquent la densification de la zone urbaine de Papeete au cours des 50 dernières années. Cette concentration a abouti aujourd’hui à une importante crise du logement doublée d’une crise économique pouvant être à l’origine du reflux vers les archipels, observé actuellement. Le rôle et l’implantation des services publics (éducation, santé, transports) soumis à l’obligation de continuité territoriale doivent alors faire preuve d’une forte résilience dans une société ou près d’un individu sur deux a changé de logements en l’espace de cinq ans.

Ce projet présente une occasion unique d’analyser la durabilité des systèmes territoriaux à partir d’une triple entrée : les lieux et les territoires ; les familles et les liens ; les individus et leur parcours. Les analyses envisagées, qu’elles soient quantitatives ou qualitatives, vont donc explorer les fonctionnements familiaux, les dispositifs publics et les caractéristiques individuelles qui permettent de transcender l’insularité. Autrement dit, l’analyse multi scalaire envisagée permettra de comprendre le tiraillement qui peut exister entre l’accès aux services, les solidarités familiales, les ancrages territoriaux et plus généralement le maintien de populations sur un territoire si vaste.

Porté par une équipe pluridisciplinaire (géographes, démographes, sociologues, statisticiens et politiste), notre projet repose sur un double partenariat avec l’UMR SAGE de l’université de Strasbourg et UMR IDEES de l’université de Rouen et l’Institut de statistique de Polynésie française (ISPF) qui participe au projet dans le cadre de différentes collectes déjà programmées et financées (l’enquête emploi 2018, l’enquête sur la famille, le logement et les relations à distance en 2019).

Ce projet, original à bien des égards, articule collecte et analyse de matériaux quantitatifs et qualitatifs. Il s’inscrit dans un renouveau des questions autour de la famille et propose une analyse quantitative inédite sur un territoire jusque-là peu décrit. Il permet plus généralement de réinterroger les travaux sur la durabilité des territoires à partir d’un archétype géographique.